Afternoon Walk in San Francisco

I’m from the East Coast of US, and this is my second visit to San Francisco.  With not much time for sightseeing while in here because of work, I was determined to at least take a nice late afternoon walk with camera in hand.  This is what I saw on this late afternoon walk of beautiful San Francisco.

I started my walk from my hotel “Hotel Nikko San Francisco” in the corner of Mason St. and O’Farrell St.  From there I headed North

The Heart of San Francisco in Union Square Park

on Powell St and went across Union Square Park.  Around Union Square Park there are LOTS of Designer Store and shops.  From Macy’s to Tiffany & Co, Williams-Sonoma, Gucci, Christian Dior, Salvatore Ferragamo, etc.  And if you are hungry, they have the Cheesecake Factory around the square as well.  So if you are feeling daring to spend all you hard earned money very quickly in one location, this is definitely the place to do it.

From Union Square Park I went east until I reached Grant Ave, and from there I headed north. While walking on Grant Ave I saw that the shopping experience continued, shops like Banana Republic and Saks Fifth Avenue among others.  So I walked on Grant for a while until I reached Chinatown.

Entrance to Chinatown

Souvenir shop at the entrance of Chinatown

Now, Chinatown was very interesting indeed.  There are tons of shops, souvenirs, and many places to eat.  One of them is this little Souvenir shop right at the entrance on Chinatown.  That little store was packed floor to celling with things to buy… and cheap too.   I swear, almost everything you will ever need, was inside this little store.  Stores like this were all over the place in Chinatown.

Continuing my walk through Chinatown I encountered even more shops, from clothing stores, music stores, etc. Here are some pictures that I took of some of the shops.

Little Gift Shop in Chinatown

Shop in Chinatown

Clothing store in the middle of Chinatown

Another great thing that Chinatown has is their buildings, there are building very similar to the ones you see in China, carrying over their culture and architectural techniques.

One of many interesting building in Chinatown

One of many interesting building in Chinatown

While interesting but not surprising, I stumble across a group of street performers, so of course, I had to take a picture.

Street Performers on the street of Chinatown San Francisco

Before I left Chinatown I took a picture of a Statue because I thought it was awesome, as I haven’t seen it in a long time.  The statue of the Three Wise Monkeys.  Please meet, from left to right, Kikazaru (Hear no Evil), Mizaru (See no Evil), and Iwazaru (Speak no Evil).

The Three Wise Monkeys, Chinatown San Francisco

As I left Chinatown, still on Grant Street, I stumble across some paintings on the sidewalk and thought they were interesting messages.  Take a look…

And to top it all off, I saw this gallery…

Live Worms Gallery Chinatown San Francisco

So I continue walking on Grant Ave. until I saw this sign…

A view of Coit Tower from Greenwich St.

on Greenwich St.  So I decided to go there to find out what it was.  First things I have to say is, wow, by the time I got there I was TIRED.  I had to go up a hill then up a bunch of steps just to get to the base (parkin lot) of Coit Tower.  From the parking lot I was able to see sections of the city of San Francisco, very nice view.  In front of the tower is the statue of Christopher Columbus.

Statue of Christopher Columbus in front of Coit Tower

I walked around the parking lot and took some pictures, then I decided to go inside the tower.  There were signs to buy tickets to go to the top of the tower, so I told myself, to hell with the fear of highs, I need to go up there.  I paid the $5 for the ticket and went to the elevator…

Elevator to go to the top of Coit Tower, San Francisco

Yes, I was scared, this elevator didn’t help.  An elevator that looked like it was built in the 1930’s, where everything is manual… yeah, it looked like a moment of the Twilight Zone…. Can you hear the music?

After what it seemed like 3 hours, I arrived to the top of the Coit Tower.  First of all, it was cold and extremely windy, so I decided to hurry up and start taking pictures.  Here are the pictures I took of the City, The Bay, and Alcatraz.

Bay Bridge, San Francisco

City of San Francisco

City of San Francisco Bay

Alcatraz

From there I took the elevator down and continued to walk on the cold evening with a t-shirt on, because, well, I forgot to bring a jacket for this trip.  I went back again on Greenwich St. and walked west until I got to Powell St. and took it North towards Fisherman’s Wharf.  From here on I had to hurry because it was already getting dark.  Once on Fisherman’s Wharf, I walked over to Pier 39, there I saw lots of shops and people.  Took some pictures there… Then I went down to the Marina and took more pictures, by this time it was dark… In the distance I hear some noises… Noises that sounded like Sea Lions, I continue on the deck of the marina, the noise getting lauder and lauder and then I saw what a lot of people talked to me about.  The Sea Lions that took over a section of the Marina in San Francisco.  Here are some pictures of Fisherman’s Wharf…

Pier 39 Shops

The Marina on Pier 39

Sea Lions, Pier 39

From here on out, it was more of a search for a cab that will take me back to the hotel.. BUT, I was unsuccessful.  Every taxi I hailed, was either with people or plain and simple refused to take me to the hotel; I guess 3 miles are not far enough for them.  So at 9:30 PM, I began my walk back to the hotel.  Camera in hand, lens cap on and legs killing me.  I must say, I had a great time, and was a great experience to take those hours to walk and enjoy part of what San Francisco has to offer.

If you are interested in viewing all the photos I took on this walk (including photos that are not in this post) please visit the blog section of my website at www.FlyByPhoto.com

Leave a Reply

